LEAP Africa Rewards Excellence

The Shell Hall, MUSON Centre, Lagos was filled to capacity on Thursday, November 19, 2009 as youth and adults alike trooped in to witness the 6th Annual Nigeria Youth Leadership Awards` organized by LEAP AFRICA.

The event aimed at rewarding young people in Nigeria who have initiated change projects that are focused on improving the lives of others; encourage and support these young people in their effort as well as showcase their impact their impacts on local communicates and demonstrate that the youth can effectively serve as change leaders in Nigeria.

The colorful event witnessed a large turnout of dignities from all works of life including the Central Bank of Nigeria Governor; Mr. Lamido Sanusi, Mr. Sesan Awoniki, CEO Premier Computer Support, representatives of NGOs, the media, teachers and the academia. The highlight of the programme was the introduction of 2009 Awardees and presentation of Awards and certificates to 10 deserving winners.

Aboderin Tunde (30). He is a graduate of the National Film Institute, Jos. His passion for social change through films inspired him to initiate Mobile Cinema Crew, social entrepreneurship initiative that utilizes graphics, video, print, and photography as a mean to develop the artistic and critical literacy and career skills of young people.

Adeshokan Balikiss (27). She is a graduate of Industrial and Labor Relations from Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun State. She initiated Brand in Nigeria in 2006 which aimed at promoting patriotism among Nigeria youth.

Yejde Alo (29). She is a graduate of Urban and Regional Planning from Obafemi Awolowo University and the founder of Young Minds Empowerment initiative (YMEI), a project she was motivated to implement during her National Youth Service in 2006.

Anyaegbu Francis (24). He is a graduate of Science Laboratory Technology, Federal Polytechnic, Ilaro. He initiated in 2005, the Youth in Transit Organization (YITO), an initiative which is focused on educating and empowering youth to make the transit from passive observers to community and global leaders.

Inalegwu Frank (29). He initiated the Society for Life and Human Development which is committed to the economic empowerment of PLWHA and vulnerable group.

Isikwenu Oghenefego (26) She is a graduate of Biochemistry from Delta State University. She established Inspiro Communications and Media (ICM) in 2004 to address the challenges faced by youth in her community.

Odiase Emmanuel (26). Emmanuel is an anti-tobacco advocate who is passionate about educating youth on the health implications to tobacco smoking. He initiated the Smoke Free Foundation in 2007 and has been carrying out Anti-tobacco campaigns in Iperu.

Okafor Peter (28). Peter is a graduate of Accounting from Federal Polytechnic, Oko whose concern about the growing unemployment statistics in Nigeria propelled him to initiate Operation Be Your Own Boss in 2005.

Okelola Olumayokun (25). He is a graduate of Physics from the Federal University of Technology, Minna and a Founder of G54 environment Project Group, an initiative focused on creating awareness on the impact of environmental pollution in Niger State.

Rotimi Akin (28). He is a graduate of Geography from the University of Ibadan who co-founded the African Youth Unite for Change (AFYUCh), an initiative with a vision to build leadership and conflict resolution potential among young people in Post-War African countries.

Related Posts

Leave A Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.